Chaire Oppenheimer - Logo - Bilingue
 

Chaire Oppenheimer en droit international public

La Chaire Oppenheimer a été créée en 2006 grâce à une généreuse dotation de la part de Dr. Tamar Oppenheimer, la première Canadienne nommée secrétaire générale adjointe du Secrétariat des Nations Unies et une alumni de l’Université McGill, afin d’attirer à la Faculté de droit un professeur et un académique de renom dans le champ du droit international public.

L’objectif de la Chaire est de renforcer l’étude et les recherches au Canada sur le droit international avec une attention toute particulière pour l’interface entre les obligations en droit international et en droit national.

À travers son engagement dans l’enseignement et la recherche sur le droit international, le titulaire de la chaire est chargé d’approfondir la compréhension des dimensions théoriques et pratiques de la mise en œuvre des traités internationaux, de la coutume et des autres obligations en droit interne, dans le cadre constitutionnel d’États fédéraux et unitaires.

Chaire Oppenheimer - Logo - Bilingue
 

Oppenheimer Chair in Public International Law

The Oppenheimer Chair, endowed in 2006, has been created through the generous support of Dr Tamar Oppenheimer, a former Assistant Secretary General of the United Nations and an alumnus of our university, in order to bring a leading scholar and teacher in the field of public international law to the Faculty.

The purpose of the Chair is to reinforce a Canadian locus for the study and research of international law, with particular attention to the relationship between international legal obligations and domestic law.

Through his engagement in teaching and research in public international law, the chairholder will advance the understanding of theoretical and practical dimensions of the implementation of international treaty, customary and other obligations in domestic law with due regard to the constitutional setting in federal and unitary states.